top of page

Citizen of Burma Award (2023)

Citizen of Burma Award (2023) received by Permanent Representative of Myanmar to the United Nations, Ambassador U Kyaw Moe Tun

The selection committee announced that the 14th Citizen of Burma Award for 2023 was awarded to U Kyaw Moe Tun, Myanmar's Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

He said that it was given to U Kyaw Moe Tun, who led and represented the CDM activists, as a commemoration to honor the public servants who fought against the military coup.

Since 2009, the Citizen of Burma Award Organization has selected and awarded individuals from the community who have been actively participating in social activities through self-sacrifice, and this is the 14th time.

In past years, in addition to the Citizen of Burma Award, additional awards were usually included, if necessary, but this year, due to the various situations faced during the Spring Revolution in Burma, only one Citizen of Burma Award was chosen and honored.

Along with this 14th honor, the selection committee has announced that they will provide support to war victims in Burma.

In 2021, the Citizen of Burma Award was given to Burmese people who participated in the Burmese Spring Revolution, and in 2022, it was reported that various revolutionary groups that opposed the coup were honored and supported.

The public honor award ceremony will be held at the Performing Arts Center of the United States on May 21, under the responsibility of the Los Angeles branch of the United States.

The Citizen of Burma Award has been awarded annually since 2010. It is an award given by expatriates in Myanmar to those who have sacrificed themselves for the sake of society in Myanmar.

U Kyaw Thu, chairman of the funeral society, was the first recipient of the Citizen of Burma Award. It was given to social workers and social organizations.


bottom of page