top of page

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's close security team leader has been released.

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's close security team leader has been released.

State Counselor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's close security team leader, Police Chief Pyae Phyo Naing, has been released from the Mandalay Division's Yamethin prison this morning, according to people close to her family.

A person close to the family said that the police chief was released after his release date.

"He was released because it was the end of the day. He's out now, Good health."

Arrested a few months after the coup d'état, Police Chief Pyae Phyo Naing was sentenced to three years in prison, but he was released before the end of the three years due to parole and reduced benefits.

Aung San Suu Kyi is closely guarded by the well-known Deputy Superintendent Cherry Htet, she has been sentenced to five years in prison under Section 505-A of the Penal Code, the Police Disciplinary Law and has not yet been released.

Another of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's security officers, the Presidential Information and Security Department, U Aung Naing Oo, Deputy Director of the Office of the Chief Security Officer, Section 3 (1) (c) of the Myanmar Government Secrets Act. Section 52 (a) of the Anti-Terrorism Act is serving a 15-year prison term in the prison.

Under the NLD government, the Minister of the Union Cabinet Office, U Min Thu, Nay Pyi Taw Mayor Dr. Myo Aung, and Deputy Mayor U Ye Min Oo have also been detained in Yamethin prison.

Family members of political prisoners said that around 300 political prisoners who were arrested in nearby townships, including Nay Pyi Taw, are still being held in the prison.

According to the Association for the Assistance of Political Prisoners (AAPP) as of July 4, 19,311 pro-democracy activists and citizens throughout the country have been arrested, and 6,645 of them have been sentenced to prison.


bottom of page